Showinghopetochina's Blog

James 1:27

Hope is the most precious treasure February 7, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — showinghopetochina @ 6:36 am

A couple days ago, a friend gave me a fortune that he found in his cookie: Hope is the most precious treasure to a person. I loved it just b/c anyone who knows me, knows that my favorite word is ‘hope’. After all, experiencing hope truly is precious. I know that when I left Maria’s House of Hope a couple summers ago, hope is all I had to cling to for the little boy I fell in love with. Any of you who have followed me know the story of Theo. How my heart is eternally bonded with his. How I feel like I have a child on the other side of the world who waits for me to tell him that I love him every night. And I do. In my prayers I have said how much I love him everynight. I have pleaded with God about the hope that I  have clung to for his little life. Unlike most people, I understand a lot of the cruel realities of Chinese culture. I ‘get’ that a child who is handicapped or deformed is, in most cases, not suitable for adoption. That is one of the main reasons why I have pleaded with God over the past couple years to please show  mercy to Theo and allow a miracle which would give him the ability to walk in order to increase his chances for adoption.

A few days ago, I learned that an orthopedic surgeon would be traveling to Maria’s House. In my completely exhausted state, it is almost impossible to share with you the handicaps that Theo suffers (if you do not already know) or to convey the love that I feel for this little boy (if I have not already shared). But I can tell you that I have prayed for the day that a dr. might look at him and tell me if I have real hope or false hope that he might one day walk.

There are not adequate words to express the gratitude that I have for the Chapmans and everything that they do for the forgotten children of China. Steven has taken a dentist and an orthopedic surgeon to Maria’s House this week in order to form a vision for the future medical needs of these precious children. As I was sitting at a friend’s house tonight, I received a phone call. The voice on the other line said ‘Miss Franzke, have you read what Marybeth wrote one your facebook.’ At this point, I had not. But I quickly did. Marybeth informed me that the orthopedic doctor has taken a look at Theo (thanks to SCC directing him to Theo’s room) and believes that there is a surgery that can be performed to help Theo walk. To say that I am overjoyed or feel that the hope that I have had has not been in vein, would be an understatement. Of course, this all seems a little to good to be true at the moment, but I cannot help but believe that the Hope that I have had such faith in for all this months is becoming a reality. That God has divinely placed a doctor in Theo’s path that can perform miracles that will enable him to walk. That this ability might enable him to receive a family who is looking to love a special needs child. Hope is, in fact, the most precious treasure that I have had for the past couple years. I love this little boy with all my heart. And as I try to push aside the human doubt that lends me to question if anything could ever be done for him, I try to make enough room for the treasure that I have clung to, to be the dominating feeling that I have. Because I know that God is good. Because I know that He has blessed me with a love for this little one. I ask you now to pray with me that this doctor will be able to be used as an instrument for healing. I don’t know all the facts, but from what I understand, this won’t be a set thing until this summer….but I have been told by Marybeth that when/if it happens, I will  be there! I responded that I would sell organs to make that possible. 🙂

 

I just ask that you pray for Theo. Pray for Dr.Thomas. Pray that Hope will always live in the hearts of those who believe.

 

Leave a Reply

