Showinghopetochina's Blog

James 1:27

The Right Stuff July 28, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — showinghopetochina @ 4:20 pm


The sole reason that I have entitled this blog entry ‘The right stuff’ is b/c Mikey and I were cruising through downtown Luoyang tonight listening to New Kids on the Block…so the song is in my head. There was a brief second when I considered tying the blog together by using this opportunity for thanking God for giving me the ‘right stuff’ to come to China…but I think I will spare you all that cheesy bit all together.

We got up early this morning. Or at least early for me on a summer schedule. The group left at 8 this morning to take a day trip to Jiaozuo to the new unit that Showhope/NewHope has started down there. The unit is in a state run orphanage that opened in May. Due to the sponsorship of that floor, Showhope/Newhope was able to build the unit and staff it as well. It looks and functions just like Maria’s House, only it is one floor with 3 rooms and 36 beds. Of course the children were precious down there as well. How could they not be?? The little girl that I am holding in the picture today, lives there. Her name is Gwynn and she is precious! We spent a couple hours there and then headed back up to Luoyang. It was entirely too long to be in a car in China. We got back to Maria’s and I spent some good time with Theo. As my days are numbered here, I Feel like every free second that I have is spent with him.  When I left him tonight, there was a nurse in the room that was able to translate to him that I will be back tomorrow. He didn’t cry when I left b/c he knows I’m coming back…if only I had figured out how to say that about a month ago!

Tomorrow we will visit the state run orphanage. I will not have pictures to offer from that experience but I am hoping to find a few precious children that I know there…

Again, just a basic blog post today but I promise the next few days will be better…gotta make it count! 🙂

Thank you all for reading, loving and supporting me. As much as I say that I don’t want to come home, there are so many people that I can’t wait to hug when I get there.

Love from China!!

ps- Have I mentioned how beautiful I think my child is???

 

3 Responses to “The Right Stuff”

  1. Kathie Franzke Says:

    I absolutely love that picture of Theo. Got to have one!!!!
    I enjoyed seeing and talking to you this morning. Love you!

  2. Cathie Weber Says:

    Joanna- I love reading your posts. You are a remarkable young woman. I do hope that you and Theo will be together one day.

  3. Morgan Minnich Says:

    He is absolutely adorable!!! Love that pic of him!! Enjoy the rest of your stay!


Leave a Reply

