Showinghopetochina's Blog

James 1:27

A very normal day July 27, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — showinghopetochina @ 3:42 pm

I never really thought that I could get to a point where being in China would feel ‘normal’. But it completely does. I am not homesick at all and I feel that I could comfortably stay several more months before I got to the point where I was desperate to come home. The fact is, I really love it here. Yes, I get tired of eating rice (which is what I had for dinner by the way) and sometimes I get frustrated that I don’t understand what people are saying to me. But being in this house, surrounded by these people and precious little lives, is one of the most content and peaceful feelings I have ever had. When I think about the fact that this time next week I will be on a plane back to the US, I get this sick feeling and a terrible pit in my stomach. I was originally scheduled to come back tomorrow, but I am so thankful that it worked out for me to stay a week longer. I’m not ready for goodbye…but I will probably say the same thing next Monday morning. Good bye will not be pretty.

Today I got up and did some work in the office. I had lunch with the new group (who are totally awesome). We did some fingerpainting in the kindergarten after lunch. Then I went upstairs and played with Theo for about 2 hours. He was up to his usual craziness. He is the funniest kid. My heart literally hurts when I think about leaving here without him. I spent some time in the Tinkerbell room today as well. The two beautiful little ladies in the picture above reside there. That room is wild and fun. Mikey took us out to the duck restaurant tonight and did another traditional Chinese meal…I’m hoping that a western meal will make into the schedule one night this week. Then we strolled through the night market again to look at the weird things they fry up to eat. Completely disgusting.

Sorry that today’s was not lengthy or ensightful but I am very tired and more and more sad as my departure approaches. Pray for me to make the most of the next few days and that I can stay strong. Love you all!

Love from China!

 

Leave a Reply

