Showinghopetochina's Blog

James 1:27

Losing Sleep July 21, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — showinghopetochina @ 2:56 pm

I’m not really sure why I have gotten my sleeping patterns all messed up. When I got here, I really did not struggle with jet lag at all. And for the past week and a half, I’ve been up until about 3 or 4 am. So, I’m going to try to go to bed earlier tonight…hopefully that will be successful. But now my head is so full of all the thoughts I have of saying good bye to the people and children that I love so much. I’m anticipating that it will be one of the harder things I’ve had to do in life.  I truly love it here. I love these kids and I love the relationships that I’ve made in the past month. But I’ve still got 12 days…and I want to make the most of it.

Today was a pretty lazy day at Maria’s. I spent lots of time with Theo. I made my rounds to the other rooms with children in them that i have become attached to. Its so neat that they know me now and I love the little ones who run up to hug me when I walk in the door. Asher ran up and kissed my cheek today…and then cried when I had to leave. Great…all I need is another kid crying when I say good bye.  Its also pretty incredible to see how the kids change over the course of a month as well. Little Michael that got here a couple weeks ago looks so good and so much healthier now. This is kind of like a house of miracles 🙂

I went for a run as it was getting dark outside. Its too hot to run during the day. Its not weird once I get out to the main road, but the first mile of it is pretty dirt-roadish. There are obviously no street lights, something that I didn’t really think about when I took off at 8 o clock in the evening. The way home was pretty dark and a little scary…I’m trying to decide if the heat or the dark is the lesser of the 2 evils.

Well, I’m gonna try to get some sleep now. Have to go into town tomorrow to do some grocery shopping for the group that is getting here on Friday. Can’t wait for the odors of the Chinese grocery store. My favorite!

Love from China!

ps-this is my favorite picture of the day!

 

Leave a Reply

