Showinghopetochina's Blog

James 1:27

A day of rest July 18, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — showinghopetochina @ 6:17 pm

Apparently everyone at Maria’s House needs a day of rest. At least that’s what Mikey told me tonight when I got home too late and realized that I didn’t get to see one baby today! (well I went in and kissed Theo goodnight but he was already asleep). When I woke up this morning and went down to the nurses lounge for breakfast, there was a full blown party in there. Several nurses from other units are in town for a ew days to renew their visas. They were eating pancakes (and rice of course) and singing karaoke! Before noon! I sang a little Total Eclipse of the Heart and then received a call from Mikey asking me to meet him downtown at 4. so, I got ready and practiced my Chinese speech to the cab driver, began walking a mile down a little, dirty Chinese road to the roundabout where I might find a cab. If any of you know me, you will understand this vision and how comical it is. I am in a sundress with my hair done and makeup done perfectly, giant sunglasses on and silver shoes. I was definitely out of place. I threw my hand in the air and got a cab. But apparently my Chinese was bad b/c the guy in the cab looked confused so I had to pull out my cheat sheet with the address on it. 20 minutes cab ride for 2 american dollars. met up with Mikey and we went art shopping in the old city which was a lot of fun. I always love to buy art that I otherwise could not afford in the states. And I got some good stuff today. But the shopping must be over. I have no idea how this stuff is coming back with me. After shopping, we went out to eat. Won Ton soup, sweet and sour pork, fried rice and Tsingtao Beer is begining to become the meal of chapmions. The highlight of the day, however was the 90 massage that cost 8 American dollars. I was like Jello and could hardly move when it was over. Fantastic day. When I got home, the nurses were upstairs on the roof playing ‘parlor games’. It must be a philapeno thing…I lost bad. Then the party continued downstairs for more karaoke. This time I sang ‘like a virgin’. Only the classesiest selections are made by our nursing friends 🙂 Then I got to skype with Shannon, and Lauren, and meagan and my parents for several hours. It was a fabulous day. And Mikey was right….sometimes you need a break. It had been a touh week here and I feel refreshed and ready to dive into the next one.

Love from China!

 

One Response to “A day of rest”

  1. Carrie Hoover Says:

    I just want to know why you didn’t sing “WANG CHUNG?” Seriously?!! That’s YOUR song!!!


Leave a Reply

