Showinghopetochina's Blog

James 1:27

Too tired to function July 7, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — showinghopetochina @ 12:58 pm

I am completely exhausted! A combination of playing hard, intense heat and emotional taxing have made me barely functional this evening. Last night was a late and fun night. I am not only enjoying being with the kids but the unique relationships that I am able to make with the English speaking nurses and show hope employees. It makes life a lot more fun after the kids go to bed.

I keep forgetting to write on here that I extended my trip. So, if any of you guys got my prayer card with the trip dates on it, please change my return date from July 28 to August 3. I decided to go for a whole six weeks. Life will be crazy when I return. I have to move into a new classroom, a new office and a new apartment all before starting school the following week on top of the inevitable jet lag and reverse culture shock that I will be dealing with!! So please keep me in your prayers even after I return home in a month.

Today was a pretty basic day. Nothing earth shattering. Ran some errands with Mikey ( used to ATM for the first time here and that was interesting ), spent a ton of time with the kids and then had a pretty intense game of basketball with the nurses. Oh yeah, I also had a giant bowl of rice. I have been branching out to other rooms and getting to know more of the children. It is so overwhelming! There are so many of them vying for attention. They all have such sweet spirits and the most beautiful smiles you’ve ever seen ( especially those cleft lip kids with the recent surgeries :). I always make sure to spend at least an hour or so with Theo. I feel like every moment I have with him is priceless. I have honestly never experienced the kind of love I have for that child. I was talking with Mikey last night about loving these kids and he asked me what was significant about theo when I first met him and why did I fall in love with that one. I can only answer and say that God has completely blessed me with that relationship. I learn so much from him. Everyday I think about how unfair it is that he has to stay here when I want him with me. The only answer I can come up with is that God is keeping him here so I keep coming back.

I’m also crazy about this kid named Jim ( The older one in the navy blue shirt in the picture today). He is so precious. He woke up from his nap today and saw that I was there and he came right over and put his head in my lap and went right back to sleep. When I left him, he pulled at me to bend over and he gave me the sweetest little kiss on the lips. One of the most incredible things about these kids is their ability to love.

That’s it for today. I promise something better for tomorrow. Sorry that I missed so many of your skype calls today. I am not going to have a power charger for my computer for a week, so I Can skype from another computer but it has no camera. So you will be able to hear my fantastic southern accent but unfortunately you will be unable to see my lovely face.

Its dinner time. I bet we’re having rice.

Love from China!

 

4 Responses to “Too tired to function”

  1. Kara Says:

    Thanks for posting a picture of my sweet Jessica – can you slip her a cheeseburger though, she looks so skinny??
    Love you – I’ll text you today.
    K

  2. Jessica’s cute little face and Jim’ abundant amount of kisses are so priceless! I love that they always sit together too. I’m so happy you are having the time of your life. Every time I read your blog I feel a little bit closer to China, even though I’m all the way in TN. I love YOU so so so so so much and am praying for you every day! Hope you are enjoying your daily notes and Chinese calender 😉

  3. Darcie Says:

    Every time you mention having rice I can almost hear the dread in your voice! I try not to giggle…but I do!

    Glad you’re having a good time! I’m following your journey daily!


Leave a Reply

