Showinghopetochina's Blog

James 1:27

Rice goes with everything July 7, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — showinghopetochina @ 3:57 am

I really can’t even begin to tell you how much rice is consumed in China. I know that its a stereotype that we throw around in the states…but its for real. If you order spaghetti, they want rice with it. Today, the nurses were eating hot dogs chopped up in rice. Yesterday, I was eating ramen noodles for lunch and the nurses said ‘oh no! You don’t have any rice!’ and began to scoop it into my ramen. I was so thankful that Mikey took us to the pizza hut tonight. It was so nice to have a meal with no rice and conversation with several people who understand everything I say. I honestly may never go back to pei wei or any other asian type of restaurant. The only unfortunate thing about dining at a western place in china is that the salads aren’t really edible. I would kill for a diet coke and a salad. The salads here only have one choice of dressing. Its called ‘special dressing’. It doesn’t look special to me and I don’t want any parts of it.

Other than that, today was just a play day. I spent a lot of time with the kids. Its so nice that they are used to me being here now. I love it that they get excited when I walk into the room. (except one little girl on the first floor who is terrified of foreigners). Theo doesn’t cry when I leave now. I guess its b/c after 9 days, he assumes I’m going to keep coming back. He blows me kisses when I walk out the door and I think its the cutest thing ever. There are two little guys on the first floor that I’m absolutely in love with, lucas and lebron. They both have downs sydrome and are two of the sweetest kids I’ve ever known.

Basically, I love getting to play with children nonstop. This has been 2 of the most incredible weeks of my life so far.

Love from China!

 

5 Responses to “Rice goes with everything”

  1. Meg Says:

    You are showing Gods love to so many children. You are such blessing to so many people.

  2. Tonya Kelley Says:

    Joanna, I love reading your updates and the happenings in China! My heart is so full of joy and pride for you as you share your heart with those precious little ones. Your mother kept me posted during school and she gave me one of your prayer cards when I ran into her at Food City! I am praying for you, Theo, and all the children and I pray that God could send forever homes for all the little ones there. Keep sharing your love and heart and know that you have an extra prayer for you all every day!
    Love in Christ,
    Tonya Kelley

  3. I miss Franky!! She is such a bundle of JOY and she smiles every time you pick her up 🙂 Love and miss you Fran!

  4. Charis Says:

    I’m loving reading your blogs. Glad you are having a good trip so far. btw…about the rice. It depends where you are in the country. When I first came to China in 1999, where I was it was rice with everything too. But where we live now, they love noodles more than rice. So, we eat way more noodles than rice. When I came for the first time I remember having mixed feelings about rice. I’d be tired of it one meal but then at another meal I’d be so thankful for it b/c at least I had something to fill my stomach if I didn’t want to eat whatever else was being served. 🙂

  5. Carrie Hoover Says:

    That little girl in the picture would make a nice sister for Ansleigh! I have lots of clothes to fit her and bows for that head full of hair so just stick her in your suitcase and bring her home 🙂 Do you want to come to my house for dinner when you get back? We’re having RICE!!!


Leave a Reply

