Showinghopetochina's Blog

James 1:27

What can I do? July 3, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — showinghopetochina @ 10:40 am

Over the past several days I have received several messages via facebook asking ‘What can I do?’ Can I first say how humbled I am that this many people are reading my blog!? I have been overwhelmed with the messages and encouragement that I have gotten. It has also become very clear to me that God has blessed me with an incredible platform and an amazing opportunity to raise awareness and spread the word about how to take action. If you received my prayer card sometime in the past month, you may have noticed ‘James 1:27’ was printed on it. That verse is very simply my calling and our responsibility as Christians to the orphan crisis worldwide. It states ‘Pure and geniune religion in the sight of God the father is caring for orphans in their distress’. So you might be sitting there reading this thinking ‘Joanna, I can’t get on a plane and go to China for 6 weeks’. Of course you can’t. Very few people can. But there are so many things that we can all do.

It costs approximately 150 thousand US dollars for Show Hope to run Maria’s House every month. Where do they get that money? From the generous Show Hope donors and sponsors! For 35 dollars a month you can be a part of this amazing undertaking and know that your money is being put to good use and making a difference in the lives of so many of the motherless and fatherless. Maybe you don’t want to make the commitment of 35 dollars a month…have a fundraiser! One of my former students has been so touched by the Show Hope ministry that she and some of her college classmates set up a stand in front of their cafeteria and raised $5,000.00! How incredible is that? Of course every little bit helps, so maybe you just want to collect all your change each month and send it to show hope as you see fit.

If you live in the Nashville area and want to do a baby wipe drive, that is another awesome way to help out. Throughout the school year, my students bring in baby wipes and antibacterial hand gel to send to China periodically. This is a huge blessing as baby wipes are difficult to come by in this region. If this is something that interests you, please let me know and I will tell you how to get all of this set up. If you have any kind of donations, clothes, toys, medical supplies, the fabulous Rebecca Dorris of Brentwood TN is constantly packing suitcases to send this way.

I know that times are tough and money is tight. I also know that there are thousands of worthwhile charities and ways to put your money to use. So pray about Show Hope and see how the Lord leads you to serve. Visit http://www.showhope.org to be a part of this mission.

I couldn’t help but use this venue as an opportunity to educate. Thank you so much for your questions, interests and desire to help!

Love from China!

 

2 Responses to “What can I do?”

  1. Tink Says:

    is the babe you’re holding the newbie Evan???


Leave a Reply

