Showinghopetochina's Blog

James 1:27

Choo Choo June 25, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — showinghopetochina @ 5:22 am

…so for any of you all who are reading this and know me at all, you know that the one thing about traveling to Maria’s house that I hate is the train. Nothing is more grotesque than the floor of the Beijing train station. The smell is something like a mix of a port-a-potty after a nascar race and the elephant exhibit at the zoo. There is no way to avoid the squatty toilets. And there are absolutely no Americans…so for a young, light skinned, blonde headed female to be there is quite strange. And there is a lot of staring and picture taking. The previous times that I have experienced this, I have been with a group. Tonight, I will be on my own. I will go in, try to figure out which train to get on and then sleep in a bunk with 5 Chinese people that I do not know. I cannot wait to fill you in on my experience tomorrow. Pray that I survive. Or that I will meet a nice English/Chinese speaking person to help me.

Last night we went to eat at an Irish Pub. I got to eat a hamburger, french fries and enjoy a glass of red wine. It was like heaven. Other than that, all I have had is rice. Its been fun getting to know the other summer workers here in Beijing. There is another American here named Kylie from Indiana and then a guy named Chris from London/Hong Kong. His accent is very enjoyable to listen to. He has asked me a lot of questions about life in the south and wanted to know what a ‘hankering’ was.

We had preschool today with the kids here and I taught them to draw triangles, squares and smiley faces. Ben is five. He is the older one in the picture that I posted yesterday. He has picked up on a lot of English from the volunteers that have been in and out of here his whole life. Ben and I skyped with my parents and he sang the ABCs and twinkle twinkle to them. He’s a really special kid and I hate having to leave him this evening.

Next time you hear from me, I will have survived the train and seen my baby.I can’t wait for that moment. There will be many tears of happiness I’m sure. I look forward to sharing it with you all next time. I appreciate your prayers and your messages!!

Love from China!

This is Ben and I skyping with my parents.

 

4 Responses to “Choo Choo”

  1. Bonnie hall Says:

    Yeah! Almost time for reunion!!

  2. Franzke,
    Basically you amaze me daily! I love reading your sweet posts and seeing your pictures. I miss little Ben. He is so full of life and love! You are on the train right now and I am praying that you got a nice middle bunk, so that no Chinese men can sit on your bed, and if you need to get up to embrace the squatty, it is not to much of a hassle to get down. All around, the middle bunk is good. Tomorrow you will see Theo. Tears feel my eyes as I think about you pulling up to MBHOH, SEEing those blue clouds, the new playground, and a building that completely stands out of the goodness and power of our God! As you walk in and feel that joy and happiness that’s full of hope, I pray that you won’t get stuck in the elevator on the way up to the 3rd floor. haha. Just kidding! Savor EVERY moment! Take lots of pictures and I’m sure I’ll skype with you soon since we skyped twice yesterday! Wo Ai Ni more than you will ever know!

  3. Carrie Hoover Says:

    Can’t wait to hear about your train experience! Knowing you, it’s going to eventful!

  4. Kristi Stephenson Says:

    So happy for you! I have nightmares about the train ride….sweet dreams my love….then happy THEO!


Leave a Reply

