Showinghopetochina's Blog

James 1:27

Out of Touch June 23, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — showinghopetochina @ 9:37 am

I arrived in Beijing at about 1:20 pm CHina time. The 14 hour flight was sponsored by ambien so it went by very quickly. However, as we were landing I thought ‘I wonder who is going to pick me up’. I had sent an email several days before but nothing had really been confirmed. So I get off the plane, get laser beamed to make sure I did not have a fever (if you have a fever coming into China, you will be quarantined) and grabbed my bags. I then went through a mob of people standing there with signs to indicate who they were giving rides to. I read all the names at least 6 times before coming to the conclusion that my ride was not there….whoever they were. I sit down on the floor, pull out my cell phone and say thanks that Katie from ShowHope had given me a list of emergency numbers. But, just my luck, my iphone apparently does not work in CHina. Awesome. So a Chinese security officer sees me looking quite frazzeled and comes over to me. I start explaining my situation to me and he looks even more confused than I am so I pull out the card of phone numbers and he lets me use his cell phone. Robin from New Hope answers and tells me to wait by the Starbucks at the airport. Ok great. We now have a plan. Only I dont see a starbucks. I begin to ask people where the starbucks is and no one understands me. So, I get in my wallet and pull out a Starbucks giftcard and point to the symbol and was directed in which way to go. My ride comes and takes me to New Hope where I will be spending the next 3 days. Its funny how getting off the plane here a year ago was so shocking and now it does not even phase me. Everything makes much more sense (except for the kids in the split pants. That will never make sense). And it makes so much sense for me to be here. I have been playing with sweet children for the past couple hours and meeting some of the American and British summer interns here at New Hope. Now I am fighting to stay awake until at least 8 tonight to try and fight off some jet lag.

Although I know that I have left so much behind for the next 6 weeks, I am so looking forward to what is to come. China feels like home to me and there is no place I would rather be.

To my mother: My cell phone doesn’t work. I do not have facebook. For some reason I cannot email you. Please have Daddy call AT&T to find out what to do about using my phone in China. His social security number is on my account so he should be able to access the information. Thanks! I love you!

For those of you who have skype, my name is joannafranzke. Please feel free to add me and skype when you’re around!

 

6 Responses to “Out of Touch”

  1. Bonnie hall Says:

    To Jo and mom,
    you need an international plan. You can get these temporarily with AT&T to cover the time you are in china. My parents did it when they went to Italy last summer.

  2. Charis Says:

    Welcome to China!
    Funny, hearing you describe getting off the plane and around the BJ airport, I could picture it exactly. I was just there 2 weeks ago and will be there again next weekend. 🙂
    Hope you made it til 8pm (given that it’s 9:45pm now, I’m going to assume you are sleeping).

  3. Meg Says:

    I am so glad you made it there safely, despite all the confusion at the airport! I love the new pictures! I have pictures of both of us holding the same baby in your picture in March. He looks like he has grown! Cute!! I am thinking about you and praying for you! We will skpye soon! Love you!!

  4. Shannon Frost Says:

    Hi, Joanna! I’m glad you made it there safely! Praying for you. BTW – You are a blondie! I love it.
    Shannon

  5. Ryan Hubbard Says:

    Hey, JoAnn!
    I’m so excited that you made it safe and sound! Rock out while you’re there. Thanks to Caroline Greene, I know you won’t be starving. 🙂

    We’ll have to Skype soon.. maybe while I’m in Iowa. I’ll keep you posted on the little ones.

    Hola!

    ryan


Leave a Reply

