Showinghopetochina's Blog

James 1:27

Strong Shoes June 21, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — showinghopetochina @ 3:24 am

About a month ago, I was sitting in a graduation ceremony at Brentwood Academy listening to one of my favorite students give a speech to the congregation. It was then that I heard the Corrie TenBoom quote “If God sends us strong paths, we are provided strong shoes”. As I am about 24 hours away from my departure to China, I keep reminding myself of this quote.

I am most certainly preparing to go down a strong path. I feel like everything in my life has been preparing me for this experience. I also know that God wouldn’t send me on this journey without making sure that I was adequately equipped. He has definitely given me strong shoes. Each day it seems as though they are getting stronger.  I will admit, I am much more nervous this time than I have been on past trips. It will be very different. I am going alone. It is much longer. I’m still not exactly sure what I am going to be doing while I’m there. But I know that I can’t wait to serve and I can’t wait to love these children.

I am going to be blogging as much as possible. It will be healthy for me to communicate what I am going through and I would love to read your comments when you feel like writing to me. I’m sure there will be days that I am so glad to read anything in English. I will have to monitor the content of my posts as I will be monitored by the Chinese government.

I know that I will be spending the day tomorrow packing and organizing and running last minute errands. I will leave for the airport at 4 am on Tuesday and fly to Newark. From there, I will board the 14 hours flight to Beijing.

Thank you all for your love, prayers and support. Each one of you who reads this and prays for me are the laces in my shoes.

I guess the next time you hear from me…I’ll be in China…I’ll probably have a baby in my arms and a peace in my heart that tells me that I am exactly where I am supposed to be.

 

Leave a Reply

